Practice Match – LFC vs Tassie Devils

March 7, 2020

The Blues’ preseason continued to build as they welcomed back some big names for the clash with the Tasmania Devils under 18s representative side at Windsor Park. On a blustery day in Riverside Launceston shot out to an early lead and despite a spirited come back in the second term from the Devils the more experienced side never looked in danger of being headed.

There were some familiar faces in the opposition, with Launceston players Isaac Chugg, Jared Dakin, Alex Davies and Jayden Hinds all turning out for the Devils. While after fielding a very young lineup in last week’s win against Longford, the Blues made a host of inclusions. Among those were Dylan Riley who was a clear standout, booting six goals while also leading the team in tackles in an impressive display. Alec Wright built into the game nicely to have 15 disposals, 6 marks and three goals, while new recruit Jacob Knight was the other multiple goal kicker with two to go with his 16 disposals and 4 tackles.

The midfield was given a big boost by the inclusions of reigning McAuley Medallist Fletcher Seymour (29 disposals, 8 clearances, 5 tackles), skipper Jobi Harper (27 disposals, 10 marks, 7 clearances and a goal) and ruckman Hamish Leedham (17 disposals, 23 hit outs), with the trio leading the way for the hosts. Other players playing their first game of the pre-season included Tim Bristow, new vice-captain Ryan Tyrrell, Jay Blackberry, Jake Smith, and Michael Musicka who returns to the club this season.

Next up the Blues get to test themselves against TSL opposition when they host North Hobart this Saturday at Windsor Park in a preview of their round one clash when the season proper gets underway on the 4th of April. The Demons showed some improvement last season and will be looking to show that they’ve continued with that momentum heading into 2020.

Launceston 14.13.97

Tasmania Devils 6.8.44

Launceston goals: D. Riley 6, A. Wright 3, J. Knight 2, J. Donnellan, J. Harper, M. Musicka

Major ball winners: F. Seymour 29, J. Harper 27, H. Leedham 17, J. Knight 16

Follow Us On Twitter