2014 McAuley Medal Night

October 4, 2014

The 2014 McAuley Medal was held down at Windsor Park on the 3rd October 2014.

The winner of the 2014 McAuley Medal, is none other than star ruckman – Joe Groenewegen.

Wagon was named in the leadership group at the start of the year and he didn’t disappoint, leading from the front, playing in all 18 games, kicking 3 goals and showing the consistency and professionalism needed to play TSL football.


Congratulations Joe on a fine year, thoroughly deserved.


Runner-Up in the McAuley Medal is 5 time B&F winner and coach of the Blues, Scott Stephens.


Scuba took the reigns as Coach this season, and whilst we didn’t have the results onfield in 2014, he certainly has shown he has what it takes to lead this club to our next premiership.
Scott also played in all 18 games, kicking 13 goals and being once again, a true leader on and off the field and giving his all for this club.

We thank Scuba for all his hard work in 2014 and cannot wait to get stuck into 2015.


Top 10 Vote Getters in the 2014 McAuley Medal

1. Joe Groenewegen – 70 votes
2. Scott Stephens – 67
3. Jake Smith – 61
4. Tom Claridge – 58
5. Corey Sheppard – 57
6. Cam Downie – 54
7. Rohan Sergeant – 53
7. Jack Dyer – 53
9. Jake Rice – 52
10. Tom Holmes – 51

Other award winners for season 2014: 

Leading Goalkicker – Brennan Savage
Most Consistent – Tom Holmes
Most Improved – Tom Cleary
Best First Year Player – Jack Donnellan
Players MVP – Joe Groenewegen
Coaches Award – Jack Dyer

Development League medal winners for 2014 are as follows…

Best & Fairest – Aaron Dusautoy (unable to attend)
Runner-Up – James Griffiths
Leading Goalkicker – Rory Lawrence
Best Backman – Zane Rundle
Most Consistent – Zach Griffiths
Best First Year Player – Curtis Murfett
Most Improved – Zac Oldenhof
Players MVP – Rhys Petterwood

Under 18 Award winners for 2014:

Rhys Petterwood – Best & Fairest
Clayton Mansell – Runner-Up (unable to attend)
Jordan Bott – Clubman Award